2016 Scholarship Tea

The annual Ashdown Scholarship Tea was held on Sunday, May 1, 2016 at 2p.m. in the Ashdown High School Cafeteria. Fifty-two scholarships of $ 27,211 were given to 29 Ashdown High School Seniors.

The Scholarship Committee has awarded over 100% of all donated moneys for some time due to investments. We plan to continue this trend and strive both to recognize students’ needs and to reward their hard work and high aspirations.

Last year, we awarded 46 scholarships with a total value of $23,750. This brings the total scholarships to over 529 awarded to 1013 students over the course of our 30-year history. The committee has authorized an alumni fund through which former students of Ashdown High School, businesses, or other individuals may contribute to the program in any amount and at any time. Such contributions may be made in honor or memory of friends and loved ones. Scholarships are tax deductible and may be sent to Ashdown Public Schools, 511 N. 2nd St., Ashdown, AR 71822. You may attention your correspondence to: Ashdown Scholarship Committee. You may call 870-898-3208 if you have any questions.

We would like to thank all of the donors for allowing us to continue honoring our deserving seniors from Ashdown High School. We would also like to encourage businesses, as well as individuals to support the scholarship program.

Pictured: (l-r) Front row:

Jammie Cush, Wesley Strange Memorial; Austin Cross, Bishop & Bishop, James E. Sutton, Jr. Memorial; and Vestco; Jaylonia Cook, Delta Kappa Gamma, Shirl & Nancy McCoy Scholarship, and Wesley Strange Memorial; Kennedy Cook, Cecil & Beth Bowman Scholarship and Wesley Strange Memorial; Mia Johnson, Ashdown Alumni Association; Lakia Hargrove, Jackson Auto Mart; Itasia Britt, Little River County Hardwoods and Wesley Strange Memorial; Kyle Kidd, Little River County Farm Bureau; and Savanna Woods, Ashdown Beta Club, Ashdown Rotary Club, Ashdown School Administrators, and Coleman Pearson Memorial

Second Row:

Madeline Chandler, Ashdown Alumni Association; Bradley Isenberg, Little River Farm Bureau and Ashdown Eye Care; Melissa Stanton, Ashdown Band Boosters, Chad & Virginia Trammell and First Guaranty Insurance; Kaitlyn Corbell, Jim & Paula Mounts, Jalen Lewis Memorial and Matt Harris Memorial; Emily Hatridge, Ashdown Alumni Association; Shelby Danielle Ford, Bob Porter Memorial Scholarship; Hunter Mulholland, Domtar & Mil-Way Federal Credit Union; Andy Daniels, Vestco; Briar Reed, Fred C. Jester, Sr. Memorial and Kaufman Memorial; Ty Cobb, Davis Family Scholarship and Dugan Ward Memorial; Levi Harger, Class of 1965

Third Row:

Raven Shankel, Ashdown Alumni Association; Juliana Ormsbee, Sandra East Memorial and Sgt. Charles Edward (Eddy) Withem Memorial; Brittany Dossett, William Coker Memorial; Madison Swilley, Family Medical Associates; Kinley Wright, Jalen Lewis Memorial; Brinlee Ward, Fred C. Jester, Jr. Memorial and William L. & Mary E. Welch Scholarship; Meghan Brown, Bear State Bank and Coca-Cola; Paige Copeland, Ashdown Alumni Association; and Mandi Duncan, Little River County Retired Teachers and Little River County Extension Homemakers