2015 Scholarship Tea

The annual Ashdown Scholarship Tea was held on Sunday, May 3, 2015 at 2p.m. in the Ashdown High School Cafeteria. Forty-six scholarships of $ 23,750 were given to 39 Ashdown High School Seniors.

The Scholarship Committee has awarded over 100% of all donated moneys for some time due to investments. We plan to continue this trend and strive both to recognize students’ needs and to reward their hard work and high aspirations.

Last year, we awarded 39 scholarships with a total value of $15,948. This brings the total scholarships to over 477 awarded to 984 students over the course of our 28 year history. The committee has authorized an alumni fund through which former students of Ashdown High School, businesses, or other individuals may contribute to the program in any amount and at any time. Such contributions may be made in honor or memory of friends and loved ones. Scholarships are tax deductible and may be sent to Ashdown Public Schools, 511 N. 2nd St., Ashdown, AR 71822. You may attention your correspondence to: Ashdown Scholarship Committee. You may call 870-898-3208 if you have any questions.

We would like to thank all of the donors for allowing us to continue honoring our deserving seniors from Ashdown High School. We would also like to encourage businesses, as well as individuals to support the scholarship program.

Pictured: (l-r) Front row:

Taylor Tallant – Brian Stapp Memorial

Nekhoe Hogan – AHS Beta Club and Bishop & Bishop

Zane Lovell – AHS Band Boosters

Logan Trafford – AHS Band Boosters

Alex Coleman – Ashdown Alumni Association

Payton Turner – Cecil & Beth Bowman Memorial and Bob Porter

Tiffany Gabbard – Domtar

Brittanie Bertrand – Jalen Lewis Memorial

Cortnie Greeson – Family Medical Associates

Second Row:

Amari Davis – Wesley Strange Memorial

Dakota Davis – Shirl & Nancy McCoy

Cierra Staten – Jalen Lewis Memorial

Brittany Martin – Class of 2007

Zentrella McClain – Mr. & Mrs. Jim Mounts

Eboni Hopkins – Ashdown Scholarship Committee

Kienda McFadden – Ashdown Athletic Booster Club – Coleman Pearson

Curtina Harper – Coca- Cola

Third Row:

Starnes York – Vestco LLC and James E. Sutton Jr. Memorial

Emily Mulholland – William L. & Mary E. Welch Memorial

Allie Anderson – Mil-Way Federal Credit Union

Allison Brewer – Little River County Retired Teachers

Rachel Pounds – William Coker Memorial and Little River County Extension Homemakers

Asphen Beard – Ashdown Alumni Association and Jackson Auto Mark

Madison Newton – Class of 1989 and Rotary Club

Mercardo Anderson – Hillis Family Dental

Last Row:

Lexy Wake – Cecil & Beth Bowman Memorial and Coleman Pearson Memorial

Jada Beth Fricks – Vestco LLC and Ashdown School Administrators

Abby Burchfield – Ashdown Alumni Association

Rebecca Wood – Little River Hardwoods, Inc.

Alexis Houck – Ashdown Alumni Association

Kayley Miller – Jalen Lewis Memorial

Chelsie Stewart – Ashdown Eye Care

Aubrey Burchfield – Ashdown Alumni Association

Drew Akins – Davis Feed and Fred C. Jester Memorial,/p>

Not Pictured:

Jason Fields – Ashdown Athletic Booster Club

Melanie Barwick – First Guaranty Insurance

Stefan Sanders – Kaufman Seeds Memorial

Dakotah Wilson – Ashdown Scholarship Committee

Lamontrick Turner – Wesley Strange Memorial