2009 Scholarship Tea

The annual Ashdown Scholarship Tea was held on Sunday, May 3, 2009 at 2p.m. in the Ashdown High School Cafeteria. Thirty-two scholarships of $ 14,175 were given to 20 Ashdown High School Seniors.

The Scholarship Committee has awarded over 100% of all donated moneys for some time due to investments. We plan to continue this trend and strive both to recognize students’ needs and to reward their hard work and high aspirations.

Last year, we awarded 27 scholarships with a total value of $12,525. This brings the total scholarships to over 265 awarded to 777 students over the course of our 20 plus year history. The committee has authorized an alumni fund through which former students of Ashdown High School may contribute to the program in any amount and at any time. Such contributions may be made in honor or memory of friends and loved ones. Scholarships are tax deductible and may be sent to Ashdown Public Schools, 511 N. 2nd St., Ashdown, AR 71822. You may attention your correspondence to: Ashdown Scholarship Committee.

We would like to thank all of the donors for allowing us to continue honoring our deserving seniors from Ashdown High School.

2009 AHS Scholarship Recipients

Sydney Erwin, First Guaranty Scholarship; Jesika Grimes, Harold & Harriett Henderson Memorial & Irene Pauley Memorial; Sean Withem, TARGETS; Kasie Imler, Ashdown School Administrators & Mary Elizabeth Welch Memorial; Shaniqua Ricks, Brad Smithpeters’ Memorial, Class of 1986 Brad Smithpeters’ Memorial, & Henry Kaufman Memorial; Bradkeis Showers, Ashdown Alumni Scholarship & First Guaranty Scholarship; Mylisa Speer, Kiwanis (In Honor of Bob Porter); Andy Gossett, First Guaranty & Henry Kaufman Memorial; Ashley Johnson, AHS Beta Club & First Guaranty; Tiffany Cole, Bradlie Scarborough Memorial; Lauren Foster, Ashdown Dental Clinic & Little River Extension; Emilie Brown, AHS Band Boosters & Domtar; Kami Cole, Century Bank; Ryan Harris, Coca Cola Scholarship; Royce Mullins, Henry Kaufman Memorial & Rotary Club (Steve Pearce Memorial); and Adam Asberry, Coca Cola Scholarship & AHS National Honor Society.

Not pictured Kendall Spencer, AHS Key Club & Coca Cola Scholarship; Shelby Warren, Cecil & Beth Bowman Memorial; Olivia Sheppard, Mil-way Federal Credit Union; Kent Fisher, Ashdown Alumni Scholarship.